The Juice Diet – What is it?

It has not escaped my attention that I have become somewhat of a hefer.

Since graduating university especially, I have slowly piled on the pounds. In the last 6 months alone I have put on a stone, with no excuse or reason other than I like food. Lots of food.

After seeing the Joe Cross’ documentary last year, Sick, Fat and Nearly Dead, I (like the rest of the UK, it seemed) went on a search for a decent juicer.

*NOTE: At this moment in time all the cheaper juicers had gone, and my dear boyfriend forked out nearly £200 for the actual juicer used in the documentary. I however, kept a hold of my money and went to Maccy’s.*

So here we are – I’m fat and miserable, and now the doctor has also called me a fatty. Time for the change our guest blogger talked about in her story to weightloss, here.

I will blog about my journey, to not only share my findings, but to literally shame myself into sticking to it.

Since January I have steadily lost 7lbs, and well, it ain’t moving quick enough. So I’m going to start the Juice Diet, and share with our lovely readers the high and lows of dieting in the hope of making a healthy change to my lifestyle.

I have done some research on the Juice Diet, and here are the facts I hope to stick with, for 3 days a week. On the days I eat solid food, I will hopefully have some lovely recipes for you to try.

The Diet:

  • 5 to 6 fruit and vegetable juices a day (80% veg to 20% fruit)
  • A glass of water with every juice
  • Hot water and lemon first thing in a morning
  • Minimal exercise due to nature of diet (YAY!)
  • No food (*cries*)

As you can see, for my first week I hit Aldi hard for the fruit and veg – this little lot came to just £12.50!

The juicer came from Amazon, and took just two days to arrive, and with P&P it was just over £60. In my opinion it is just as good as some that retail for £150, or indeed the one my boyfriend spent a small fortune on.

I also ordered some glass bottles with screw tops from Ebay, as keeping juices in plastic bottles basically go funky due to the plastic and something science-y.

Now, these are the best tips for juicing:

  • Ideally juices should be made right before you drink them. (I don’t know how anyone in employment can do this, but okay…) However, you can make them on the morning you wish to have juices, and I even make them the evening before. This is to stop vital nutrients dissipating, but this is a VERY slow process, and it’s all better than a carton of juice from Asda
  • Add a squeeze of lemon if you are pre-making the juices as it slows down the oxidation process – basically it stays fresher a little longer
  • As a rule, citrus juices last longer. If something turns brown quickly, i.e. an apple, don’t juice too far in advance, as it will go bad
  • Store in a cool dry place. Direct sunlight is a no-no

My diary will start from next week, and will include my weight and inches loss. Pictures will be included when I am less ashamed of my weight.

If you have any juicing tips you can share, they would be much appreciated

Happy juicing!

– love Carla x

One thought on “The Juice Diet – What is it?

  1. Pingback: Slimming World: Week 1 | She Wears High Heels UK Lifestyle Blog

Leave a Reply

